认知科学

10-10-10 法则:控制情绪及认知决策

生物认知模块 生物认知模块 关注 Jun 18, 2019 · 预计阅读 5 分钟
10-10-10 法则:控制情绪及认知决策

情绪从哪里来?来自现实与预期的差异。举个例子,你走路的时候发现地上有一百块钱,你很开心,这个情绪来自于超预期的收益;然后捡起来之后你发现这是自己刚刚掉出来的,这样你会经历一系列的情绪,包括失望、庆幸以及自嘲等。(相信我,这不是我自己的经历!)。从事件发生前后来看,你仍然拥有这笔钱,不过你的情绪会经历像过山车一样的波动。

情绪是什么?额……好消息是本文计划讨论关于情绪的认知而非情绪本身,所以心理学这部分内容就略过了,开不开心?!

情绪会引发什么事情?我想大多数人的回答是引发自身脱离平静的状态。没错,绝大多数情况下,情绪不会给我们带来很大的麻烦。然而在特定的情况,情绪会被放大从而伤害我们自己以及他人。

《荒蛮故事》就讲述了一些日常生活中微不足道的小事所引发的情绪被逐级放大的严重后果,这部电影非常棒,我建议大家有时间可以看一下。 那么,我们应该如何避免陷入到类似电影中主人公一样的境地呢?这就是本文将要介绍的一个重要原则:10-10-10 法则。

1. 10-10-10 法则

与大多数人了解的不同,这个法则最早是由 Suzy Welch1 而非由巴菲特提出。

2. 原理

时间抚平一切。

丹尼尔·卡纳曼在《思考,快与慢》2中指出每个人都存在两个自我:经验自我和记忆自我。我们对当下经历事件的感受由前者控制,对过去的评价和认知则由后者控制。举例而言,在期末考试前的那段时间中,如果你天天打游戏,对于正在经历那段时光的你(即经验自我)而言是非常美妙的,然而当日后考试挂科的你回忆那段时光时(即记忆自我)会非常懊悔;反之,如果你认真复习,那么当时的经验自我可能会痛苦,但日后的记忆自我会对那段时光给予满意的评价。

本文中的 10-10-10 法则就是上述理论的快速执行版本。

3. 适用范围:情绪处理、决策

我们在什么时候特别需要记忆自我而非经验自我做出决定呢?在我们情绪失控或者面临重大决策时。

3.1 情绪

生性乐观,事事顺利。

我们都知道,情绪会影响我们看待某事的角度,从而改变我们对其的反应行为。比如,对于街边的乞讨行为,如果我们心情不错,那么就很有可能给上几块钱;但是如果心情不好,那么那个乞丐能够得到最好的结果就是被我们视而不见。

我们可以把情绪依照我们意识到它们的时间分成四个层次:

  1. 不知不觉:没有意识到情绪在事件发生时的影响(这也是大部分人的状态);
  2. 后知后觉:事件发生后存在自我反思;
  3. 当知当觉:事件发生时能够意识到情绪,并且进行控制;
  4. 先知先觉:在事件发生前预计到事件的出现,从而避免不良情绪的出现。

当然我们的理想状态是达到第四层,不过 10-10-10 法则在情绪上的应用主要是在第三层上,即当知当觉。

3.2 决策

通过牺牲当下的利益来换取未来更大的利益,这是我们幸福的源泉。—— 史蒂芬·柯维,《高效能人士的七个习惯》一书作者

那些注重决策的直接后果,而不考虑间接后果的人很少能够达成目标。—— 雷伊·达里奥,桥水基金创始人,《原则》一书作者

在上文中第二部分的例子中,主人公的特点是情绪稳定,并且由充足的时间来评估各个选项以做出优良的决定。然而,很多人(甚至是非常聪明的人士)也会出现类似的错误,这就涉及到我们人类大脑的认知策略,斯坦诺维奇在《超越智商》3中提出的三重加工心智模型非常有力的解释了这一现象,即自主心智、算法心智、反省心智。

本文中介绍的 10-10-10 法则即尝试为反省心智引入触发信号。

4. 优缺点

10-10-10 法则尝试为我们避免情绪和决策的失误。就这一目标而言,它已经做的非常出色了。然而,我们仍然要指出在应用此法则时需要注意的一些事项。

在情绪处理方面:

  • 优点:避免冲动的行为;
  • 缺点:过度使用会造成人际关系问题(比如被指责缺乏同理心等)。对于他人的情绪问题,要分清对方是需要得到解决问题的方案还是单纯的发泄情绪,大部分时候我们需要理解和包容。

在决策方面:

  • 优点:避免基于短期利益的决策;
  • 缺点:由于是基于当下的个人认知在假想未来的状况,因此必然会存在一定的偏差。一个普遍的案例就是年轻人以其当时的状况来推演年老的财务状况,而不会认识到储蓄和养老金的重要性。优化方案是在时间允许的情况下,通过更多的途径(如咨询更专业的人士来寻求建议等)来减小偏差。

5. 具体操作

10-10-10 法则本身非常简单,可以用以下三个问题来概括:

  • 10 分钟后,我会怎么看待它?
  • 10 个月后,我会怎么看待它?
  • 10 年后,我会怎么看待它?

以上,就是我在日常生活中应用的原则之一,希望能够对你有所启发。

  1. Welch, Suzy. 10-10-10: 10 Minutes, 10 Months, 10 Years - a Life-Transforming Idea. 1st Scribner hardcover ed, Scribner, 2009. (豆瓣) 

  2. 丹尼尔的这本书非常精彩,建议阅读。 

  3. 基思·斯坦诺维奇. 超越智商: 为什么聪明人也会做蠢事. 2015. 

边文博 - 订阅
通过电子邮件订阅最新博文,获取我关于智能时代的思考。
生物认知模块
本文作者:生物认知模块 关注
知识、思想,引导!什么是意义?

cognition,

10-10-10 Rule: Controlling Emotional and Cognitive Decisions

Biological cognitive module Biological cognitive module Follow Jun 18, 2019 · 5 minutes read
10-10-10 Rule: Controlling Emotional and Cognitive Decisions

Where does the emotion come from? The difference between reality and expectations. For example, when you walk and find a hundred dollars on the ground. You are very happy. this emotion comes from the unexpected benefits. Then after picking up you find that this is just falling out of your own bag, so you will experience a series of emotions, including disappointment, happiness, and self-deprecation. (Trust me, this is not my own experience!). You still have the money before and after the event, but your emotions have experienced fluctuations like a roller coaster.

What is emotion? Oh… The good news is that this article plans to discuss cognitions of emotion rather than emotion itself, so the part of psychology is skipped, what a surprize!

What does emotion cause? I think most people’s answer is to bring themselves out of calm. Yes, in most cases, emotions will not cause us a lot of trouble. However, in certain situations, emotions are amplified to hurt ourselves and others.

“Relatos salvajes” tells the serious consequences of the emotions caused by the trivial little things in daily life being amplified step by step. This movie is very good. I suggest that you can go and have a look. So how do we avoid falling into the same situation as the protagonist in a movie? This is the important principle to be introduced in this article: 10-10-10 rule.

1. 10-10-10 rule

Unlike most people known, this rule was first proposed by Suzy Welch 1 instead of Buffett.

2. Principle

Time kills, time cures, let time take care of it.

In “Thinking, Fast and Slow” 2, Daniel Kahneman points out that there are two selfs in each person: the experience self and the memory self. Our perception of the current experience is controlled by the former, and the evaluation and cognition of the past is controlled by the latter. For example, during the period before the final exam, if you play the game every day, it is very wonderful for you who are experiencing that period of time (ie, experience yourself). However, since you have not passed the exam, your memories of that time (ie, memory self) will be very remorseful. On the contrary, if you carefully review, the experience self may be painful, but the memory self will give a satisfactory evaluation of that time.

The 10-10-10 rule in this article is a fast-executing version of the above theory.

3. Scope: Emotional processing, decision making

When do we need the memory self (instead of the experience self) to make a decision? A situation when our emotions are out of control or when we are facing major decisions.

3.1 Emotions

A merry heart goes all the way.

We all know that emotions affect the way we look at something and change our behavior toward it. For example, for those beggars on the street, if we are in a good mood, then it is very likely to give them a few dollars; but if we are in a bad mood, then the best result is that they are blinded.

We can divide emotions into four levels according to the time we realized them:

  1. Unconsciously: Unaware of the effects of emotions on events (this is also the state of most people);
  2. After: There is self-reflection after the incident;
  3. Meanwhile: Be aware of emotions and control them when an event occurs;
  4. Before: The occurrence of an event is expected before the event occurs, thereby avoiding the appearance of bad emotions.

Of course, the ideal state is to reach the fourth level, but the 10-10-10 rule is mainly applied on the third level.

3.2 Decision

Happiness can be defined as the fruit of the desire and ability to sacrifice what we want now for what we want eventually. – Dr. Stephen Covey

People who overweight the first-order consequences of their decisions and ignore the effects that the second- and subsequent-order consequences will have on their goals rarely reach their goals. – Ray Dalio

In the example of the second part above, the protagonist is characterized by emotional stability and sufficient time to evaluate the options to make good decisions. However, many people (even very smart people) will encounter similar mistakes. This involves the cognitive strategy of our human brain. The three-processing mental model proposed by Steinovic in “What Intelligence Tests Miss: The Psychology of Rational Thought”3 is a very powerful explanation for this phenomenon, namely, independent mind, algorithmic mind, and reflective mind.

The 10-10-10 rule described in this article attempts to introduce triggers for the reflective mind.

4. Advantages and disadvantages

The 10-10-10 rule tries to avoid emotional and decision-making mistakes for us. For this purpose, it has done a great job. However, we still have to point out some things to be aware of when applying this rule.

In terms of emotional processing:

  • Advantages: Avoid impulsive behavior;
  • Disadvantages: Excessive use can cause interpersonal problems (such as being accused of lack of empathy, etc.). For other people’s emotional problems, it is necessary to distinguish whether they need to solve the problem or simply vent their emotions. Most of the time we need to tolerate.

In terms of decision making:

  • Advantages: Avoid decisions based on short-term benefits;
  • Disadvantages: Because it is based on the current personal cognition to imagine the future, there will inevitably be some deviation. A common case is that young people use their current situation to derive their financial status without recognizing the importance of savings and pensions. The optimization plan is to reduce the deviation by more means (such as consulting a more professional person to seek advice, etc.) when time permits.

5. Operation details

The 10-10-10 rule itself is very simple and can be summarized in the following three questions:

  • How will I feel about it in 10 minutes?
  • How will I feel about it in 10 months?
  • How will I feel about it in 10 years?

The above is one of the principles I applied in my daily life, and I hope this will inspire you.

  1. Welch, Suzy. 10-10-10: 10 Minutes, 10 Months, 10 Years - a Life-Transforming Idea. 1st Scribner hardcover ed, Scribner, 2009. 

  2. Kahneman, Daniel. Thinking, Fast and Slow. 1st ed, Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2011. 

  3. Stanovich, Keith E. What Intelligence Tests Miss: The Psychology of Rational Thought. Yale University Press, 2009. 

Bian Wenbo - Newsletter
Get the latest news right in your inbox. I never spam!
Biological cognitive module
Written by Biological cognitive module Follow
Hi, I am human brain. I think, therefore I am! What is the meaning?