人类 人工智能

在智能时代构建自己的知识结构

边文博 边文博 关注 Jun 12, 2019 · 预计阅读 6 分钟
在智能时代构建自己的知识结构

在信息化时代,个体面临的主要问题就是人类日益增长的知识信息同自我有限的注意力之间的矛盾。在十九世纪,一个人只要努力一点,还能够掌握当时世界上的大部分知识。然而在二十一世纪的今天,一个人根本不可能了解(更不可能掌握)当下的大部分知识,即使在特定的领域,他穷尽一生的努力可能也仅仅让他成为某个细分课题专家。

如何解决这样的矛盾?不同的认知水平和处理方案会带来迥然不同的结果。比如,你如何分配自己的空闲时间,是休息、玩游戏、看书,还是出去社交、旅游?我们大学毕业后应该继续深造还是尽快工作?如何解决困难的问题,是类比还是推理、是自我钻研还是求助他人?…… 太多的选择让人无所适从,人们通常的方案是向专家求教,然而受限于自身的立场,不同的专家有时会给出不同的指导。让问题雪上加霜的是,在不熟悉的领域我们缺乏有效的判断力。

有没有一种办法能够摆脱个人主观偏见的影响,而从借助客观事实的角度给予我们指导呢? 在中国有句古老的谚语:

以古为镜,可以知兴替。1 —— 唐太宗,唐贞观十七年

相比使用自己的人生作为赌注,人类的历史作为天然的大数据能够给我们提供一些指导。还记得手工纺织工人和马车车夫吗?他们在工业革命的自动化进程中失业了;还记得那些电话接线员吗?他们在电子化的进程中失业了;还记得那些超市收银员吗?他们在网络化的进程中失业了。父母一辈的很多工作现在已经消失了,现在热门的职业其中很多在几年前才刚刚出现。

历史中非常多的案例教导我们要投身于时代的洪流之中,那么当今时代的趋势是什么?我认为是智能化。在本文中,我尝试探索在这个时代我们应该将自己有限且宝贵的注意力投放到哪些领域。

1. Human 的关注领域

认识你自己。2 我们从何处来?我们是谁?我们向何处去?3

世界上只有两样东西是值得我们深深景仰的,一个是我们头上的灿烂星空,另一个是我们内心的崇高道德法则。—— 《实践理性批判》,康德。

从单细胞到人类经过了数亿年的进化,与此同时,我们对于自身和他人的认识也在不断变化,尤其是在最近一百年,人类对于自我的研究成果日新月异。 在二十一世纪初,脑神经科学、认知科学等迅速发展,而思想、道德、情绪、理性等等都是以大脑为基础。

生物认知模块
虚拟角色:生物认知模块 详情

在智能时代,我们需要更好的了解自身,因此我创建了一个代表我们人类的虚拟角色:Human,其关注的(科学)领域如下:

  • 人与人之间的关系:心理学,经济学;
  • 人的自身:认知学,脑神经学,生物学;
  • 基础学科:环境学,历史学。

2. AI 的关注领域

制造和使用工具是人类和动物的主要区别。

通过制造自然界不存在的产品,人类在动物之中脱颖而出。缺少猎豹和羚羊般的速度?没关系,我们有汽车、飞机,甚至是航天火箭;害怕老虎和野狼的利爪和尖牙能够轻易的伤害我们?没关系,我们有房子、枪炮,甚至是原子弹;担心几十亿的人口超出环境的承载能力从而出现饥荒?没关系,我们使用人工杂交、基因工程来加速自然选择,从而只需要少数人从事农业活动就能满足(甚至是超出)人类的温饱需要。

自从工业革命开始,人类科技高速发展的科技创造出了更多的工具,它们替代并进一步拓展了我们自身有限的能力。汽车行业就是一个典型的案例,从人工装配到流水线工人,而后是流水线的机器化、自动化,目前在一个典型的汽车制造中心只需要少数的工程师来监控生产情况。计算机的诞生极大的减少了人们在重复劳动上的工作,它们尤其擅长于哪些人类难以处理的数值计算问题。目前,从个人生活(如手机等)到大型工程(如航空航天等)的各个方面都已经离不开计算机的辅助。

科技工程模块
虚拟角色:科技工程模块 详情

在智能时代,人们不再停留在用工具弥补我们的不足,而是开始尝试用工具替代部分大脑的功能。我们需要更好的了解工具,因此我创建了一个代表我们科技的虚拟角色:AI,其关注的(科学、工程)领域如下:

  • 软件:算法,数据结构,计算机网络;
  • 硬件:
  • 基础学科:数学(包括微积分、线性代数、概率论);物理,化学;能源。

3. 我的关注主题

一个人的命运啊,当然要靠自我奋斗,但是也要考虑到历史的行程。—— 江泽民,2009

个人的命要和环境的命相配,必须要靠两个条件:其一是个人必须有环境所需要的条件或“命”,其二是个人必须要有和环境的命相配合的意愿。个人一生中是否有好运,就要看个人是否有计划性地经由进修、学习储存许多当时环境所需要的条件或命,以及个人有没有意愿用自己的条件去配合环境。若缺乏有用条件又不愿意与环境相配合者,永远不会遇到好运…… (柯永河,1993,p.405)4

边文博
真实人生:边文博 详情

世界是复杂的,人本身更加复杂,我们很难使用简单的模式来解释这些。相较于上述两个虚拟角色所关注的基础领域,我更多的关注交叉学科的应用以及生活的意义。因此,下面这些(技术、艺术)主题是我所感兴趣的:

  • 应用:数据科学,人工智能;信息模式;
  • 趋势:国际形势,国内政策;数字游民;
  • 技能:写作,演讲,管理,外语,营销,教育;音乐,绘画,摄影。

以上,就是我对智能化趋势中个人应该关注的领域的思考,即智能时代的知识结构。

  1. 旧唐书·魏徵传》李世民:“夫以铜为镜,可以正衣冠;以古为镜,可以知兴替;以人为镜,可以明得失。” 

  2. 相传是刻在德尔斐的阿波罗神庙的三句箴言之一,也是其中最有名的一句。另外两句是“妄立誓则祸近”和“凡事不过分”。Wikipedia 

  3. 保罗·高更于1897年12月完成的一幅后印象派作品名。Wikipedia 

  4. 建议进一步阅读《生涯咨询与辅导》。 

边文博 - 订阅
通过电子邮件订阅最新博文,获取我关于智能时代的思考。
边文博
本文作者:边文博 关注
信息、模式、意义…… 如何统领?

human, ai,

Build Your Own Knowledge Structure in the Age of Intelligence

Bian Wenbo Bian Wenbo Follow Jun 12, 2019 · 5 minutes read
Build Your Own Knowledge Structure in the Age of Intelligence

In the age of informationization, the main problem faced by individuals is the contradiction between the increasing knowledge of human beings and the limited self-attention. In the nineteenth century, as long as one worked hard, he could master most of the world’s knowledge at that time. However, in the 21st century, it is impossible for a person to understand (and less likely to master) most of the current knowledge. Even in a specific field, his exhaustive efforts may only make him an expert in a certain subject.

How to solve such contradictions? Different levels of cognition and treatment can lead to very different outcomes. For example, how do you allocate your free time? Choose to rest, play games, read books, or go out to socialize and travel? Should we continue our studies after graduation from college or work as soon as possible? How to solve difficult problems, through analogy or reasoning, self-drilling or asking for help? … Too many choices make us feel at a loss. The usual solution is to ask experts for advice. However, depending on their position, different experts sometimes give different guidance. To make matters worse, we lack effective judgment in unfamiliar areas.

Is there a way to get rid of the influence of personal subjective prejudice and give us guidance from the perspective of objective facts? There is an old saying in China:

The history mirrors both thriving and calamity.1 - Emperor Taizong of Tang, 643 AD

Instead of using your own life as a bet, human history as a natural big data can give us some guidance. Do you remember hand-woven workers and coachmen? They were unemployed in the automation process of the industrial revolution. What about the telephone operator positions that have been very popular? They disappeared in the process of electronicization. Do you still have an impression of supermarket cashiers in previous years? They lost their jobs in the process of networking. Some of the jobs of our parents’ generation have now disappeared, in contrast to the fact that many of the current hot jobs are just emerging a few years ago.

Too many cases in history teach us to devote ourselves to the general trend of the times. What is the trend of the modern era? I think it is intelligent. In this article, I try to explore the areas in which we should focus our limited and valuable attention in this era.

1. Human’s area of concern

Know thyself.2 Where Do We Come From? What Are We? Where Are We Going?3

Two things fill the mind with ever new and increasing admiration and awe, the more often and steadily we reflect upon them: the starry heavens above me and the moral law within me. - Immanuel Kant, Critique of Practical Reason

Human beings have evolved from a single cell for hundreds of millions of years. At the same time, our understanding of ourselves and others is constantly changing. Especially in the last hundred years, human beings’ research on self has changed with each passing day. At the beginning of the 21st century, brain neuroscience and cognitive science developed rapidly, while thought, morality, emotion, and rationality were all based on the brain.

Biological cognitive module
Virtual character: Biological cognitive module Details

In the age of intelligence, we need to understand ourselves better, so I created a virtual character that represents our humanity: Human, whose scientific areas of concern are as follows:

  • The relationship between people: psychology, economics;
  • Human self: Cognition, Brain Neurology, Biology;
  • Basic subjects: environment, history.

2. AI’s area of concern

Manufacturing and using tools are the main difference between humans and animals.

By making products that do not exist in nature, humans stand out among animals. Lack of cheetah and antelope speed? It doesn’t matter, we have cars, airplanes, and even space rockets. Are you afraid that the claws and fangs of tigers and wolves can easily hurt us? Don’t be afraid, we have houses, guns, and even atomic bombs. Worried that billions of people are beyond the carrying capacity of the environment and thus famine? Nowadays, this is no longer a problem. We use artificial hybridization and genetic engineering to accelerate natural selection, so that we only need a few people to engage in agricultural activities to meet (or even exceed) human needs.

Since the beginning of the industrial revolution, the rapid development of human technology has created more tools than ever before, which have replaced and further expanded our limited capabilities. The automotive industry is a typical case, from manual workers to assembly line workers, and then to the mechanization and automation of the assembly line. Currently, only a small number of engineers are required to monitor production in a typical automobile manufacturing center. The invention of computers has greatly reduced the tedious repetitive work of people, and they are especially good at numerical calculation problems that are difficult for humans to handle. At present, all aspects of personal life (such as mobile phones, etc.) to large-scale projects (such as aerospace, etc.) are inseparable from computer assistance.

Technology engineering module
Virtual character: Technology engineering module Details

In the age of intelligence, people no longer just use tools to make up for our shortcomings, but instead try to replace some of the brain’s functions with tools. We need a better understanding of the tools, so I created a virtual character that represents our technology: AI, with the following areas of science and engineering:

  • Software: algorithms, data structures, computer networks;
  • Hardware:
  • Basic subjects: Mathematics (including calculus, linear algebra, probability theory); Physics, Chemistry; Energy.

3. My topic of interest

The fate of a person, of course, depends on self-strengthening, but also on the history trends. - Jiang Zemin, 2009

The match between personal life and the environment must depend on two conditions: one is that the individual must have the conditions required by the environment, and the other is that the individual must have the willingness to cooperate with the life of the environment. Whether there is good fortune in an individual’s life depends on whether the individual has planned to learn and store many of the conditions required by the environment at the time, and whether the individual is willing to use his own conditions to cooperate with the environment. If you lack useful conditions and are unwilling to cooperate with the environment, you will never encounter good fortune… (Ke Yonghe, 1993, p. 405)

Bian Wenbo
Real life: Bian Wenbo Details

The world is complex and the people themselves are more complex, and it is difficult for us to explain them using simple patterns. Compared with the basic areas of interest of the above two virtual characters, I pay more attention to the application of interdisciplinary and the meaning of life. Therefore, the following (technical, artistic) themes are of interest to me:

  • Applications: Data Science, Artificial Intelligence; Information Models;
  • Trends: international situation, domestic policy; digital nomads;
  • Skills: writing, speaking, management, foreign language, marketing, education; music, painting, photography.

The above is my thinking about the areas that individuals should pay attention to in the trend of intelligence, that is, the knowledge structure of the intelligent age.

  1. Old Book of Tang, volume 71. 

  2. The saying “know thyself” was inscribed on temple entrances in Kemet (Ancient Egypt) such as in the temples of Luxor. 

  3. A painting by French artist Paul Gauguin. 

Bian Wenbo - Newsletter
Get the latest news right in your inbox. I never spam!
Bian Wenbo
Written by Bian Wenbo Follow
Information, patterns, values...